Google has now incorporated Google+’s ‘mention’ functionality into their blogging platform. What this means for Blogger users is that they can now call the attention of other Google+ users simply by mentioning their Google+ handle in their blog posts; it’s just like Facebook comment tagging.
Once you mention someone’s name in your blog post, they will receive a notification in Google+. Blogger’s software engineer Malte Ubi explains, “If you share your post from Blogger to Google+, we make it easier to notify your mentions by including them in the sharebox.
To mention someone, just type “+” before their name while you’re using the Blogger post editor.
The profile or page will show up as a link in you published post. Hovering over will show a card with more info and an ‘Add to circles’ button. Clicking the link takes you straight to the Google+ profile or page.”
This new function can be very useful if you’re writing about a brand or page on Google+, plus it’s a good way to provide context to your content. Furthermore, it is also helpful when it comes to giving credit to someone who has helped you write your post.
Read more about this on Blogger’s official announcement.
Related Tricks & Tutorials
Comments will be closed off on this post 365 days (1 year) after it is published. Apologies to this, but it's all about avoiding a growing comment spam problem. See our most recent posts where you can comment here